The real..’Sinners Prayer.’

http://www.apuritansmind.com/Puritan%20Evangelism/GerstnerJohnSeekersPrayer.htm

Dear God, whom I hate with all my being precisely because you hate and threaten me with hell, I hate this punishment perhaps even more than I hate you. Or, maybe I should say that I love my comfort even more than I hate you. For that reason I am asking a favor of you. I want you to make me love you, whom I hate even when I ask this and even more because I have to ask this. I am being frank with you because I know it is no use to be otherwise. You know even better than I how much I hate you and that I love only myself. It is no use for me to pretend to be sincere. I most certainly do not love you and do not want to love you. I hate the thought of loving you but that is what I’m asking because I love myself. If you can answer this ‘prayer’ I guess the gift of gratitude will come with it and then I will be able to do what I would not think of doing now—thank you for making me love you whom I hate. Amen.

 

 

Back to
Puritan Evangelism

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Evangelism, Faith., sinners prayer, Uncategorized

One Comment on “The real..’Sinners Prayer.’”

  1. pastorinthewoods Says:

    My Sunday School Lesson was about the parable of the wedding feast today. Jesus ends the parable by announcing ” Many are invited but few are chosen.” I asked the class this question, ” What is the more prominent theme of this parable Human Resp or Div. Sov.

    I then pointed out the following things about the parable that was not very clearly explained by the lesson writer.

    Although people made a choice

    1. No one could have if the king had not invited them
    2. Everyone was chosen to be invited before they chose to come or stay away
    3. The king provided the wedding garments and those who were found without them were thrown into outer darkness
    4. The purpose of the invitation was to bring glory to the king and his son not to celebrate the merits of any of the guest.

    HMMM! The mystery between these two things is evident but God’s grace shines forth. While we were yet sinners, Christ died for teh ungodly.


Leave a Reply

