A Variety of Calvinists in the SBC.

Not all calvinists in the SBC are exactly the same

1.There are the  Chihuahua “Calvinists “as defined by Johnny Hunt.

2.You have the “possible “anti-missions hyper-calvinists who cause Avery Willis great concern(By the way Avery(who are they??)

3.Then there are Calvinists who weep over people who are going to hell.

4.Other calvinists rejoice that people will burn forever in hell.

5.There are “single predestination calvinists.”

6.Of course there are the ever present double predestination calvinists

7.Some calvinists never smile(Jonathan Edwards type.)”Their favorite sermon is “sinners in the hands of an angry God.”

A few calvinists actually have a sense of humor,but they suffer from depression and  gout.These are the “Charles Spurgeon calvinists.”

Which one describe you?As for me,I a Chihuahua calvinist.

A former member and a man who served on staff at Woodstock share comments in 2006 on Johnny Hunt and Calvinism.February 14, 2006  

Blogger Scott and Nathan were members of Woodstock. Scott

was”fired”by hunt over Calvinism.He says, He would not discuss the scriptures with me in private. He said ” I don’t care what the Baptist Faith and Message says or what historical Southern Baptist taught. I’m the Pastor of this church and what I believe is what my staff members better believe.” Then I was told that a calvinist could not stay on staff so, they gave me three months. He said this to me twice and that he would not discuss this anymore. The reason why we ought to be scared so to speak is that if I was in error it’s his duty as my Pastor to correct me and warn me of error. 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: calvary baptist church, Calvinists go away, Hyper Calvinists

4 Comments on “A Variety of Calvinists in the SBC.”


  1. IT IS ALL OF US COOL AND CASUAL CHIHUAHUA’S THAT ARE KEEPING DR. S SMITH (1611 SWORD MAN)OUT OF THE CONVENTION. WHAT A SHAME IF ONLY WE COULD BE ACCEPTABLE.

  2. bill in brevard Says:

    I was googling something else and found your blog and loved it. I’m hoping to have a hot tub installed on the deck of our parsonage soon so your name made me laugh!

    I am from Greenville, SC and graduated SEBTS in ’97. I’m now in Brevard, NC. Many of your older posts were just great.

    Concerning this post, I hold out hope that by God’s grace one day someone will say from the convention floor, “Calvinists, like the ones who founded the denomination.”

    Bill


  3. Thanks Bill,
    I got the hottub religion idea from J.I.Packer’s book “Hot tub religion.”An excellent book,now out of print.
    In S.C.all calvinists are called hyper calvinists by the S.C.Baptist Building boys and the great host of Arminian pastors..although they love Charles Spurgeon.Go figure.
    Bill

  4. Greg Says:

    They love that Spurgeon had a church of 6K and helped plant dozens for others. Man, could someone like that help us really build a big building?!!!
    They do not love the man or his theology. Gee, he yelled at the Hyper-Calvinists and at the utilitarian Baptist that peddled a man centered gospel. He just didn’t know how to get along with anyone did he!
    In Christ Alone,
    Greg
    Hey Bill, I graduated from SEBTS in 00.


Leave a Reply

