Joel(Cotten Candy)Osteen.Rock Star Pastor.

The St.Petersburg Times Nov.26,2006,p.10a,describes Cotton Candy’s message:”Osteen’s easy going,all-inclusive gospel has made him a spiritual rock star.He’s unrelenting positive,more Norman Vincent Peal than Pat Robertson.His deliberately non-judgmental sermons…have made him a best selling author who is even popular among agnostics and atheists.He touts a loving God.There is no condemnation.No talk of judgement or damnation.”Osteen is described as “God’s Cheerleader.”

See www.takeheed.net for information about Osteen.

Part of interview with “Cotton Candy on  Larry “Soft ball”King.

King:How about issues that the church has feelings about?Abortion?Same sex marriages?

Osteen:Yeah,you know what Larry?I don’t go there.

King:You have thoughts though.

Osteen:I have thoughts.I just,you know,I don’t think that a same sex marriage is the way God intended it to be.I don’t think abortion is the best.I think there are other,you know,a better way to live your life.BUT I’M NOT GOING TO CONDEMN THOSE PEOPLE.I TELL THEM ALL THE TIME OUR CHURCH IS FOR EVERYBODY.(Cotten Candy please read John.3:18.Thas in the N.T.If you have to ,use the index in the front of a Bible.Borrow one if you don’t own one.(Hottubreligion remarks).

King:You don’t call them sinners?(Agnostic King seems suprised.)

Osteen:I don’t.

(Cotten Candy…consider.Luke.19:10.Hottub.)

King:Is that a word you don’t use?

Osteen:I don’t use it.I never thought about it.But I probally don’t.But most people already know what they are doing wrong.When I get them to church I want to tell them that you can change(Reformation,good works.Hottub).There can be a difference in your life.SO I DON’T GO DOWN THE ROAD OF CONDEMNING.

King:Is it hard to live the Christian life?

C otton Candy:I don’t think it’s that hard.TO ME IT’S FUN.We have joy and happiness.Our family—I don’t feel like that at all(it’s not about feelings,Cotton.It’s about truth.Hottub).I’m not trying to follow a set of rules and stuff.I’m just living my life.

King:But you have rules,don’t you?

Cotton Candy:We do have rules.But the main rule is to honour God with your life.To live a life of integrity.Not to be selfish.You know,help others.But that’s really the essence of the Christian faith.

Caller:Joel,why did you sidestep Larry’s earlier question about how we get to heaven?The Bible clearly teaches that Jesus is the way,the truth and the life and the only way to get to the Father is through Him.Thats not really a message of CODEMNATION(A word Cotton hates.Hottub)but a message of TRUTH.

Cotton Candy:Yes,I would agree with her.

King:So then a Jew is NOT going to heaven?

Cotton Candy:No,here’s my thing,Larry,is I can’t judge somebody’s heart.You know?(Yes,Cotton, we know.Hottub).Only God can look at somebody’s heart,and so I don’t know.To me,its not my business to say,you know,this one is or this one isn’t.I just say,here’s  what the Bible teaches and I’m going to put me faith in Christ.AND I JUST THINK IT’S WRONG WHEN YOU GO AROUND SAYING,YOU’RE NOT GOING,YOU’RE NOT GOING,BECAUSE IT’S NOT EXCATLY MY WAY.

King:But you believe your way.

Sugar Boy:I believe my way.I believe my way with all my heart.

King:But for someone who doesn’t share it,is wrong,isn’t he?

Sugar Boy:Well,yes,I don’t know if I look at it like that.I would present it my way(Sugar’s favorite song is I did it my way.Hottub),but I’m just going to let God be the judge of that.

King:What about atheists?

Sugar Boy:You know what,I’m going to let someone–I’m just going to let God be the judge of who goes to heaven and hell.I just–again I present the truth,and I say it every week.You know I believe it’s a relationship with Jesus.But you know what? I’m not going to go around telling everybody else if they don’t want to believe thats going to be their choice.God’s got to look at your own heart…and only God knows that.

In the wake of these comments and the criticism they received from faithful Christian commentators Joel Osteen posted the following “apology” to his website-

Dear Friend,

Many of you have called, or emailed regarding my recent appearance on Larry King Live.  I appreciate your comments and value your words of CORRECTION and  encouragement.  It was never my desire or intention to leave any doubt as to what I beleve and Whom I serve.  I believe with all my heart that it is only through Christ that we have hope in eternal life.  I regret and sincerely apologize that I was unclear on the very thing in which I have dedicated my life.  Jesus declared in John l4: I am the way, the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father but by me.  I believe that Jesus Christ alone is the only way to salvation.  However, it wan’t until I had the opportunity to review the transcript of the interview that I  realize I had not clearly stated that having a personal relationship with Jesus is the ONLY WAY TO HEAVEN.  It’s about the individual’s choice to follow Him.  God has given me a platform to present the Gospel to a very diverse audience.  In my desire not to alienate the people that Jesus came to save, I did not clearly communicate the convictions that I hold so precious.  I will use this as a learning experience and believe that God will ultimately use it for my good and His glory.  I am comforted by the fact that He sees my heart and knows my intentions.  I am so thankful that I have friends, like you, who are willing to share their concerns with me.  Thank you again to those who have written.  I hope that you accept my deepest apology and see it in your heart to extent to me grace and forgiveness.

As always, I covet your prayers and I am believing for God’s best in your life.

In response to this “apology” the Dial-The-Truth Ministries report says-

I find  it ironic and demeaning that Osteen “was unclear on the very thing in which I have dedicated my life.”  He was not unclear.  He was CRYSTAL CLEAR.  He consistently and clearly rejected that the Lord Jesus Christ was the ONLY way of salvation!  We’re not talking about a “babe in Christ.”  We are talking about the pastor of the largest church in the nation!  Here he is, as an ambassador for the Lord Jesus, on a very popular television show, and he refuses to acknowledge the very thing to which he supposedly has “dedicated his life”?

Something’s seriously wrong with this picture.

Now lets repeat after Joel,This is my Bible…….

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

