Three ways to say, “I love You.”

 Phil.1:3,4,7.Paul said to the believers at Philippi,”I Love You.”

(1)I have you on my “mind.”v.3.I thank my God upon every remembrance of you.I’m thinking abouy you.

(2)I have you in my “prayers.”v.4.Always in every prayer…I’m praying for you.

(3)I have you in my “heart.”v.7because I have you in my heart.I love you.

Those three words,I love you,haved solved more problems and healed more broken hearts than any other three words in the english language.Yet they seem to be the most difficult words to say.

(a)We say, I LOVE YOU TOO.A wife said to her husband, “You never tell me that you love me.”He replied, “Yes I do.”She says,no,you only say,I love you too in response to me when I tell you that I love you .

(b).We say ,“I LOVE YOU..BUT.And then point out the faults of that person.

(c)We say,“I LOVE YOU..IF.And love becomes conditional.

1.I love you.I’m thinking about you.v.3.

Paul was not thinking about himself and his unfortunate circumstances(a prisoner in Rome).His mind is filled with joy as he remembers  everything about his fellow believers in Philippi.He cannot forget the events that transpired in the founding of this church(Acts.16).Paul says now, “I love you”.I’m thinking about you.

When was the last time you called someone and said, “I JUST WANTED YOU TO KNOW THAT I’VE BEEN THINKING ABOUT YOU.” I had you on my mind.

The blind singer and composer,Stevie Wonder,wrote a song years ago, “I just called to say I love you.

“One way to say, “I love you”is to say and really mean it to someone,”I have you on my mind.

2.I have you in my “prayers.”v.4.I’m praying for you.

Paul prayed for them..with joy.v.4.Making request with joy.How often do we pray for others with joy?Many times we pray out of duty or habit,but not with joy.To pray for others with joy is one way of saying, “I love you..I’m praying for you.”

3.I have you in “in my heart.v.7.I carry you around in my heart.”I love you.”You are in my heart…not on my “nerves..”He had them as it were engraved upon his heart.2.Cor.3:2.You are our epistle(letter) written in our hearts,known and read of all men.2.Cor.7:3b.That you are in our hearts to die and live with you.

The Priests in the O.T.had the 12 tribes engraved on the garment over their hearts as they prayed for them.

(1) I love you..I have you on my mind.

(2) I love you..I have you in my prayers.

(3)I love you..I have you in my heart.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sermons

Leave a Reply

