“Please,God,Take The Pain Away.”

Dr.Robert F.Browning,Pastor Smoke Rise Baptist Church,Stone Mountain,Georgia shared this testimony.

Matthew.28:20b.Lo,I am with you always even unto the end of the world

When my daughter,Amy Blair,was four years old,she broke her leg.It happened at church when some bricks stacked under a canopy fell on her.She spent the night in the hospital because the doctor wanted the swelling to subside before he put a cast on it.

I’ll never forget one thing that occurred the next day.The doctor came in to set her leg and of course it hurt when they started moving that leg to prepare it for the cast.She looked at me with big tears in her eyes and said, “Daddy,make him stop.It hurts.”

I don’t recall hurting that badly up to that point in my life.I was a mess on the inside while trying to act so composed and calm on the outside.I wanted nothing more than to take her pain away, but I could not do it. So, what did I do?

I held her hand ever so tightly and told her I knew it hurt.I assured her that what the doctors were doing was absolutely necessary and that the pain would soon ease.I told her to grip my hand tightly and look at me, not the doctors.I let her know I would not leave her and be close by her side through this entire ordeal.

That was twenty years ago.While the memories are fading, the lesson I learned that morning is not. I think of it often, especially when I hear someone ask,”Why can’t God take away my pain?” For one brief moment, I think I can identify with God and understand why even He cannot take away pain from the children He loves so much.Let me explain.

It is not uncommon for me to hear someone ask, “Why won’t God take my pain away?” I have heard it from people who have lost loved ones, victims of abuse or neglect and people whose dreams have been shattered.

Most of the time, the request comes from people who are hurting so badly that they are not sure if they can continue another day or hour.It is usually spoken out of deep anguish.

How would you answer that question? Here is what I have learned.

For God to take away our pain, He would have to take away all feelings.He would have to strip us of joy, happiness, pride, love and a host of other emotions. To take away our feelings would leave nothing but an empty shell.That’s not what He wants for us and I have to believe we do not want that either. Oh, we may want that temporarily, but not permanantly.

To take away our pain,He would have to erase our memories.While there are times when we might not mind that, there are other times when that would be the last thing we would want.

Have you ever been around anyone with Alzheimer’s? It has to be one of the most debilitating diseases anyone could endure. How pitiful to observe the actions of one that has no memory. It is heartbreaking, isn’t it?

If you have lost a loved one, I know it hurts and hurts badly. At times,the pain seems unbearable. However, as bad as the pain is, I think it would be worse to have no memory of the person you knew and loved. That would be sad for them and us.

An unknown author has written, “It is better to have gained memories from a love than to have never had the chance, for memories remain in the heart.” Sounds like the more familiar quote, “Better to have loved and lost than never loved at all.”

However, when you love someone, you are going to grieve. In some ways, the level of pain indicates the level of love you had for that person.How can you expect to love someone and not grieve when he or she is gone? That’s impossible unless you had no memory of them. I’ll take the pain because I want the memories.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Grieving for dummies, How to face death, How to grieve., Jay Poore, Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on ““Please,God,Take The Pain Away.””

  1. Dwight Says:

    Great thoughts Bill. I have never considered those 2 points.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

